Heads I Win, Tails You Lose

No time to create a full post about Yaacob’s critcism of online rumors. So here’s some quick comments about the incredible logic adopted by certain online commentators.

Logic 1: If I post something that exposes the truth, I trumpet the power of free speech at spreading the truth.

Logic 2:If I post something that is wrong or if I reported something out of context, I can say that I am “merely repeating what others have said”, and “As a blogger I can only comment on what I know”.

Logic 3:If I post something with innuendo that can be interpreted in the wrong manner, I will simply say that I am reporting the facts as I understood it. Any subtle message or (mis)-interpretation is entirely the fault of the reader.

Ergo. Logic 4: No need to take responsibility for what I write. Heads I win, Tails you lose.

About sgthinker

I'm a 40-year old Singaporean male, and this blog pens down my thoughts and feelings about Singapore's political happenings, government policies and society trends. I hope this blog will provide a moderate voice in the growing online debate about the state of Singapore's society. Some of the posts here won't be solely written by me, since there will be times when other writers are more eloquent at expressing their views, in which case I'll share their insights (along with my comments). The content on this blog is owned by me.If you wish to share or reproduce the content, please attribute it to this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Heads I Win, Tails You Lose

  1. Papaya says:

    Just an opinion.
    Opinion –
    In general, an opinion is a judgment, viewpoint, or statement about matters commonly considered to be subjective, i.e. based on that which is less than absolutely certain, and is the result of emotion or interpretation of facts. What distinguishes fact from opinion is that facts are verifiable, i.e. can be objectively proven to have occurred. An example is: “America was involved in the Vietnam War” versus “America was right to get involved in the Vietnam War”. An opinion may be supported by facts, in which case it becomes an argument, although people may draw opposing opinions from the same set of facts. Opinions rarely change without new arguments being presented. It can be reasoned that one opinion is better supported by the facts than another by analyzing the supporting arguments.[1] In casual use, the term opinion may be the result of a person’s perspective, understanding, particular feelings, beliefs, and desires. It may refer to unsubstantiated information, in contrast to knowledge and fact.

    Relac….stop being a control freak so everyone can be responsible for using their brain unless of course you agree that some people should have the right to think for you or commit thought murder

  2. Tho Swee hock says:

    What are your thoughts on the new MDA regulations?
    Any dumb and dumber Singaporean reactions?

  3. Sam says:

    “Heads I win, tails you lose” is a response to “Might is right”. The PAP has exploited its absolute majority in parliament to bend the laws, regulations and institutions in its favour as a government for so long that they have become complacent and out of touch.

    • Tim says:

      It may be a response (that claim in itself is contentious, but let’s take it to be true, for the sake of argument), but it is in no way a valid response. Two wrongs do not make a right, and spreading misinformation is one of the most damning ways of causing strife where there is none, and inflicting harm where there is no reason to do so.

      If tearing down the establishment *at all cost* is the adopted philosophy, then there is no “right party” to choose. All are equally evil, all are equally harmful to Singapore. In that case, I’d rather pick the horse which is known to run fast, and not the new fawn trying to prove to me that it can.

  4. Pingback: Daily SG: 10 Jul 2013 | The Singapore Daily

  5. Mind says:

    that’s very true.. Have guts to standby what you post.

Leave a Reply

